SM Energy (SM) reported $3.2B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +17.2% year on year. That ranks #1069 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #57 in Energy. Net income was $648M, a net margin of 20.5%. Revenue has grown 5.0% a year on average since 2011 ($1.6B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $9.3B in total assets, $368M in cash and $2.1B in long-term debt.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenues | $3.2B | +17.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss | $1.0B | −7.1% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Net incomeNetIncomeLoss | $648M | −15.8% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | $2.0B | +12.8% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditure | Not reported | — | |
| Total assetsAssets | $9.3B | +7.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity | $4.8B | +13.5% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | $368M | +$368M | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debtLongTermDebt | $2.1B | −6.0% | FY20212021-12-31 |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Reported since the last full year
Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 20262026-03-31 | $1.5B | −$335M | Open → |
| Q2 20262026-06-30 | $2.5B | $1.1B | Open → |
Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 14 of 96 companies compared | 20.5% | |
| Operating marginRank 9 of 87 companies compared | 31.7% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 29 of 95 companies compared | 11.7% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- SM Energy Co
- Ticker
- SM
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas (1311)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0000893538
Filings
- 10-QAug 6, 2026Open filing →
- 10-QMay 7, 2026Open filing →
- 10-KFeb 26, 2026Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Crescent EnergyCRGY | $3.6B | $133M |
| NobleNE | $3.3B | $217M |
| Nabors IndustriesNBR | $3.2B | $287M |
| SM EnergySM | $3.2B | $648M |
| Range ResourcesRRC | $3.1B | $658M |
| DnowDNOW | $2.8B | −$89.0M |
| Oceaneering InternationalOII | $2.8B | $354M |
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=SM Energy — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/sm-energy |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). SM Energy — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/sm-energyBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-sm-energy-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{SM Energy — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/sm-energy}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0000893538-26-000032 · February 26, 2026
{{cite web |title=SM Energy — Key figures — 10-K (0000893538-26-000032) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/893538/000089353826000032/sm-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-26}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.