Trinity Industries (TRN) reported $2.2B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −30.0% year on year. That ranks #1298 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #260 in Industrials. Net income was $277M, a net margin of 12.9%. Revenue has declined 3.9% a year on average since 2016 ($3.1B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $8.4B in total assets and $201M in cash.

Key figures

$3.1B2016$2.4B2017$2.5B2018$2.8B2019$1.7B2020$1.5B2021$2.0B2022$3.0B2023$3.1B2024$2.2B2025
Trinity Industries — Key figures
Key figuresFY2025YoYSource
RevenueRevenues$2.2B−30.0%FY20252025-12-31
Gross profitNot reported—
Operating incomeOperatingIncomeLoss$649M+32.1%FY20252025-12-31
Net incomeNetIncomeLoss$277M+76.5%FY20252025-12-31
Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities$360M−37.3%FY20252025-12-31
Capital expenditurePaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment$45.6M−15.2%FY20252025-12-31
Total assetsAssets$8.4B−4.6%FY20252025-12-31
Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity$1.1B+1.7%FY20252025-12-31
CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue$201M−11.8%FY20252025-12-31
Long-term debtNot reported—

Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.

Reported since the last full year

Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.

Trinity Industries — Reported since the last full year
QuarterRevenueNet incomeSource
Q1 20262026-03-31$492M$24.2MOpen →
Q2 20262026-06-30$485M$98.3MOpen →

Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.

Where this sits in its sector

Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.

Trinity Industries — Where this sits in its sector
Where this sits in its sectorFY2025Position in sector
Net marginRank 61 of 323 companies compared12.9%
Operating marginRank 16 of 316 companies compared30.1%
Cash as share of revenueRank 121 of 322 companies compared9.3%

All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.

Profile

Legal name
Trinity Industries Inc
Ticker
TRN
Exchange
NYSE
SIC classification
Railroad Equipment (3743)
Fiscal year end
12-31
CIK
0000099780

Filings

Similar in size, same sector

CompanyRevenueNet income
Cavco IndustriesCVCO$2.2B$191M
ManitowocMTW$2.2B$7.2M
GracoGGG$2.2B$522M
Trinity IndustriesTRN$2.2B$277M
Ttec HoldingsTTEC$2.1B−$185M
Franklin ElectricFELE$2.1B$147M
La-Z-BoyLZB$2.1B$102M

See the full ranking →

Cite this page

Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.

Wikipedia

{{cite web |title=Trinity Industries — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/trinity-industries |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}

APA 7

CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Trinity Industries — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/trinity-industries

BibTeX

@misc{companiesranked-en-company-trinity-industries-2026,
  author       = {{CompaniesRanked}},
  title        = {{Trinity Industries — Key figures}},
  year         = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/trinity-industries}},
  note         = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
  urldate      = {2026-09-25}
}

The filing itself

The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0000099780-26-000014 · February 19, 2026

{{cite web |title=Trinity Industries — Key figures — 10-K (0000099780-26-000014) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/99780/000009978026000014/trn-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-19}}

The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.