Shell (SHEL) reported $267B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −6.1% year on year. That ranks #13 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #1 in Energy. Net income was $17.8B, a net margin of 6.7%. Revenue has grown 0.1% a year on average since 2015 ($265B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $370B in total assets, $30.2B in cash and $66.5B in long-term debt.

Key figures

$265B2015$234B2016$305B2017$388B2018$345B2019$181B2020$262B2021$381B2022$317B2023$284B2024$267B2025
Shell — Key figures
Key figuresFY2025YoYSource
RevenueRevenue$267B−6.1%FY20252025-12-31
Gross profitNot reported—
Operating incomeNot reported—
Net incomeProfitLossAttributableToOwnersOfParent$17.8B+10.8%FY20252025-12-31
Operating cash flowCashFlowsFromUsedInOperatingActivities$42.9B−21.6%FY20252025-12-31
Capital expenditureNot reported—
Total assetsAssets$370B−4.5%FY20252025-12-31
Shareholders' equityEquityAttributableToOwnersOfParent$174B−2.2%FY20252025-12-31
CashCashAndCashEquivalents$30.2B−22.7%FY20252025-12-31
Long-term debtLongtermBorrowings$66.5B+1.6%FY20252025-12-31

Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.

Figures are reported under IFRS, in US dollars.

Where this sits in its sector

Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.

Shell — Where this sits in its sector
Where this sits in its sectorFY2025Position in sector
Net marginRank 42 of 96 companies compared6.7%
R&D as share of revenueRank 11 of 21 companies compared0.4%
Cash as share of revenueRank 31 of 95 companies compared11.3%

All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.

Profile

Legal name
Shell Plc
Ticker
SHEL
Exchange
NYSE
SIC classification
Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas (1311)
Fiscal year end
12-31
CIK
0001306965

Filings

Similar in size, same sector

CompanyRevenueNet income
ShellSHEL$267B$17.8B
TotalenergiesTTE$201B$13.1B
BPBP$193B$55.0M
ChevronCVX$189B$12.3B

See the full ranking →

Cite this page

Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.

Wikipedia

{{cite web |title=Shell — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/shell |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}

APA 7

CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Shell — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/shell

BibTeX

@misc{companiesranked-en-company-shell-2026,
  author       = {{CompaniesRanked}},
  title        = {{Shell — Key figures}},
  year         = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/shell}},
  note         = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
  urldate      = {2026-09-25}
}

The filing itself

The numbers above are read from this document: 20-F · 0001628280-26-017024 · March 12, 2026

{{cite web |title=Shell — Key figures — 20-F (0001628280-26-017024) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1306965/000162828026017024/shel-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-03-12}}

The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.