Bank of Nova Scotia (BNS) reported $27.0B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +9.9% year on year. That ranks #202 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #31 in Financials. Net income was $5.6B, a net margin of 20.6%. Revenue has grown 3.5% a year on average since 2016 ($19.9B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $1.08T in total assets and $6.4B in cash.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueC$37.7B | $27.0B | +9.9% | FY20252025-10-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating income | Not reported | — | |
| Net incomeC$7.8B | $5.6B | −1.6% | FY20252025-10-31 |
| Operating cash flowC$5.4B | $3.9B | −66.1% | FY20252025-10-31 |
| Capital expenditure | Not reported | — | |
| Total assetsC$1.48T | $1.08T | +7.8% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Shareholders' equityC$87.6B | $64.0B | +8.5% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| CashC$8.7B | $6.4B | −7.3% | FY20252026-01-31 |
| Long-term debt | Not reported | — |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Figures are reported under IFRS in CAD and converted to US dollars at ECB reference rates — fiscal 2025 average 1.397 CAD/$ for income items, year-end 1.369 CAD/$ for balance-sheet items.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 64 of 191 companies compared | 20.6% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 100 of 186 companies compared | 23.6% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- Bank of Nova Scotia
- Ticker
- BNS
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- State Commercial Banks (6022)
- Fiscal year end
- 10-31
- CIK
- 0000009631
Filings
- 40-FDec 2, 2025Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Federal National Mortgage Association Fannie MaeFNMA | $29.0B | $14.4B |
| US BancorpUSB | $28.7B | $7.6B |
| Hartford InsuranceHIG | $28.4B | $3.8B |
| Bank of Nova ScotiaBNS | $27.0B | $5.6B |
| Marsh & Mclennan CompaniesMRSH | $27.0B | $4.2B |
| American InternationalAIG | $26.8B | $3.1B |
| Bank of MontrealBMO | $26.0B | $6.2B |
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Bank of Nova Scotia — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/bank-of-nova-scotia |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Bank of Nova Scotia — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/bank-of-nova-scotiaBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-bank-of-nova-scotia-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Bank of Nova Scotia — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/bank-of-nova-scotia}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 40-F · 0001193125-25-304643 · December 2, 2025
{{cite web |title=Bank of Nova Scotia — Key figures — 40-F (0001193125-25-304643) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/9631/000119312525304643/d936350d40f.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2025-12-02}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.