Rio Tinto (RIO) reported $57.6B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +7.4% year on year. That ranks #94 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #2 in Materials. Net income was $10.0B, a net margin of 17.3%. Revenue has grown 5.2% a year on average since 2015 ($34.8B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $128B in total assets, $8.9B in cash and $21.2B in long-term debt.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenue | $57.6B | +7.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating incomeProfitLossFromOperatingActivities | $14.9B | −4.6% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Net incomeProfitLossAttributableToOwnersOfParent | $10.0B | −13.7% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowCashFlowsFromUsedInOperatingActivities | $16.8B | +7.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditure | Not reported | — | |
| Total assetsAssets | $128B | +24.6% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityEquityAttributableToOwnersOfParent | $62.2B | +12.6% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalents | $8.9B | +4.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debtLongtermBorrowings | $21.2B | +72.9% | FY20252025-12-31 |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Figures are reported under IFRS, in US dollars.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 26 of 134 companies compared | 17.3% | |
| Operating marginRank 21 of 131 companies compared | 25.9% | |
| R&D as share of revenueRank 46 of 75 companies compared | 0.9% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 38 of 132 companies compared | 15.4% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- Rio Tinto PLC
- Ticker
- RIO
- Exchange
- NYSE
- SIC classification
- Metal Mining (1000)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0000863064
Filings
- 20-FFeb 19, 2026Open filing →
- 20-FFeb 20, 2025Open filing →
- 20-FFeb 23, 2024Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| ArcelormittalMT | $61.4B | $3.2B |
| Rio TintoRIO | $57.6B | $10.0B |
| BHP GroupBHP | $51.3B | $9.0B |
| DowDOW | $40.0B | −$2.4B |
| ValeVALE | $38.4B | $2.4B |
Rio Tinto compared withArcelormittalBHP Group
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Rio Tinto — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/rio-tinto |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Rio Tinto — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/rio-tintoBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-rio-tinto-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Rio Tinto — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/rio-tinto}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 20-F · 0001628280-26-009531 · February 19, 2026
{{cite web |title=Rio Tinto — Key figures — 20-F (0001628280-26-009531) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/863064/000162828026009531/rio-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-19}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.