Principal Financial (PFG) reported $15.6B in revenue for fiscal 2025, −3.1% year on year. That ranks #353 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #39 in Healthcare. Net income was $1.3B, a net margin of 8.0%. Revenue has grown 4.3% a year on average since 2011 ($8.7B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $341B in total assets, $4.4B in cash and $3.9B in long-term debt.
Key figures
| Key figures | FY2025 | YoY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueRevenues | $15.6B | −3.1% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Gross profit | Not reported | — | |
| Operating income | Not reported | — | |
| Net incomeNetIncomeLoss | $1.3B | −21.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities | $4.5B | −1.4% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Capital expenditure | Not reported | — | |
| Total assetsAssets | $341B | +8.8% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity | $11.9B | +7.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue | $4.4B | +5.2% | FY20252025-12-31 |
| Long-term debtLongTermDebt | $3.9B | −0.7% | FY20252025-12-31 |
Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.
Reported since the last full year
Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 20262026-03-31 | $3.5B | $425M | Open → |
| Q2 20262026-06-30 | $3.9B | $403M | Open → |
Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.
Where this sits in its sector
Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.
| Where this sits in its sector | FY2025 | Position in sector |
|---|---|---|
| Net marginRank 70 of 161 companies compared | 8.0% | |
| Cash as share of revenueRank 27 of 160 companies compared | 28.4% |
All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.
Profile
- Legal name
- Principal Financial Group Inc
- Ticker
- PFG
- Exchange
- Nasdaq
- SIC classification
- Accident & Health Insurance (6321)
- Fiscal year end
- 12-31
- CIK
- 0001126328
Filings
- 10-QJul 29, 2026Open filing →
- 10-QApr 29, 2026Open filing →
- 10-KFeb 18, 2026Open filing →
Similar in size, same sector
| Company | Revenue | Net income |
|---|---|---|
| Teva Pharmaceutical IndustriesTEVA | $17.3B | $1.4B |
| AflacAFL | $17.2B | $3.6B |
| IQVIA HoldingsIQV | $16.3B | $1.4B |
| Principal FinancialPFG | $15.6B | $1.3B |
| Regeneron PharmaceuticalsREGN | $14.3B | $4.5B |
| ViatrisVTRS | $14.3B | −$3.5B |
| Labcorp HoldingsLH | $14.0B | $877M |
Cite this page
Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.
Wikipedia
{{cite web |title=Principal Financial — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/principal-financial |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}APA 7
CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Principal Financial — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/principal-financialBibTeX
@misc{companiesranked-en-company-principal-financial-2026,
author = {{CompaniesRanked}},
title = {{Principal Financial — Key figures}},
year = {2026},
howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/principal-financial}},
note = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
urldate = {2026-09-25}
}The filing itself
The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0001104659-26-017031 · February 18, 2026
{{cite web |title=Principal Financial — Key figures — 10-K (0001104659-26-017031) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1126328/000110465926017031/pfg-20251231x10k.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-18}}The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.