Gatx (GATX) reported $1.7B in revenue for fiscal 2025, +9.8% year on year. That ranks #1429 by revenue among 2853 SEC filers and #283 in Industrials. Net income was $333M, a net margin of 19.2%. Revenue has grown 2.7% a year on average since 2011 ($1.2B then). The fiscal 2025 balance sheet shows $18.0B in total assets, $743M in cash and $12.5B in long-term debt.

Key figures

$1.2B2011$1.2B2012$1.3B2013$1.5B2014$1.4B2015$1.4B2016$1.4B2017$1.2B2018$1.2B2019$1.2B2020$1.3B2021$1.3B2022$1.4B2023$1.6B2024$1.7B2025
Gatx — Key figures
Key figuresFY2025YoYSource
RevenueRevenues$1.7B+9.8%FY20252025-12-31
Gross profitNot reported—
Operating incomeNot reported—
Net incomeNetIncomeLoss$333M+17.3%FY20252025-12-31
Operating cash flowNetCashProvidedByUsedInOperatingActivities$648M+7.6%FY20252025-12-31
Capital expenditurePaymentsToAcquirePropertyPlantAndEquipment$1.7B+32.6%FY20232023-12-31
Total assetsAssets$18.0B+46.4%FY20252025-12-31
Shareholders' equityStockholdersEquity$2.8B+12.8%FY20252025-12-31
CashCashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue$743M+85.0%FY20252025-12-31
Long-term debtLongTermDebt$12.5B+51.2%FY20252025-12-31

Revenue is total net sales for the fiscal year, taken from each company's own annual filing.

Reported since the last full year

Three-month figures this company has filed since FY2025. A quarter is not comparable with a full year, and these figures are used nowhere else on the site: not in any ranking, not in comparisons, not in the download.

Gatx — Reported since the last full year
QuarterRevenueNet incomeSource
Q1 20262026-03-31$584M$85.5MOpen →
Q2 20262026-06-30$580M$103MOpen →

Only periods that end on a calendar quarter appear here. A company whose fiscal year ends in June files on a different calendar, so it has no row.

Where this sits in its sector

Each bar is the spread of the whole sector: the box covers the middle half of companies, the line inside it the median, and the triangle this company. The axis is clipped at the 5th and 95th percentile so a single outlier does not flatten it.

Gatx — Where this sits in its sector
Where this sits in its sectorFY2025Position in sector
Net marginRank 28 of 323 companies compared19.2%
Cash as share of revenueRank 14 of 322 companies compared42.7%

All four are ratios derived from two reported lines, not single filing items. Peer group: companies in the same sector with revenue of $1bn or more; loss-making companies are included.

Profile

Legal name
Gatx Corp
Ticker
GATX
Exchange
NYSE
SIC classification
Transportation Services (4700)
Fiscal year end
12-31
CIK
0000040211

Filings

Similar in size, same sector

CompanyRevenueNet income
Comfort Systems USAFIX$1.8B$1.0B
AshlandASH$1.8B−$845M
MaterionMTRN$1.8B$74.8M
GatxGATX$1.7B$333M
Alliance LaundryALH$1.7B$98.5M
Lgi HomesLGIH$1.7B$72.6M
Huron ConsultingHURN$1.7B$105M

See the full ranking →

Cite this page

Ready-made references for the figures on this page, as published on September 25, 2026.

Wikipedia

{{cite web |title=Gatx — Key figures |url=https://companiesranked.com/en/company/gatx |website=CompaniesRanked |date=2026-09-25 |language=en}}

APA 7

CompaniesRanked. (September 25, 2026). Gatx — Key figures. CompaniesRanked. https://companiesranked.com/en/company/gatx

BibTeX

@misc{companiesranked-en-company-gatx-2026,
  author       = {{CompaniesRanked}},
  title        = {{Gatx — Key figures}},
  year         = {2026},
  howpublished = {\url{https://companiesranked.com/en/company/gatx}},
  note         = {Compiled from SEC EDGAR XBRL filings; data as of 2026-09-25},
  urldate      = {2026-09-25}
}

The filing itself

The numbers above are read from this document: 10-K · 0000040211-26-000018 · February 19, 2026

{{cite web |title=Gatx — Key figures — 10-K (0000040211-26-000018) |url=https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/40211/000004021126000018/gmt-20251231.htm |website=SEC EDGAR |publisher=U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission |date=2026-02-19}}

The figures are rebuilt with every data refresh, so the reference carries the publication date. Add your own access date if your style requires one.